Why do good tonearms sound better?

Username: Fredrico_alvarez

Post Number: 7
im fairly new to vinyl but am in love with the sound, its better than any other medium that ever existed. but i still dont know a lot of the technical side, which brings me to my question:

how do tonearms affect sound and why, and what makes good ones good

experience and knowledge appriciated

Gold Member
Username: Frank_abela

Berkshire UK

Post Number: 2875
Jan will be better able to expound on this than me, so I'll keep this brief-ish.

There are several parameters which will determine how well an arm works in a particular situation. The tonearm's effective mass, the quality of its bearings and its geometry. For example a typical arm is 9" in length (approx) but there such things as 12" arms and these show appreciably lower distortion figures by comparison to their almost identical 9" brothers.

Why is it that the bearing tolerances are so important? Well, consider what is actually happening here. The cartridge drives the tonearm across the surface of the record. Friction introduced by the bearings is something the cartridge has to work against in order to drag the tonearm across the record. If a cartridge were the size of a small plough, the record diameter would be something like a couple of football pitches in length. The arm bearing would be a quarter mile away (for a 9" arm). So - any friction in that bearing, any movement whatsoever, has a major impact on the job of the cartridge.

The tonearm's effective mass also has a major effect on how it works with your chosen cartridge. It and the cartridge's compliance add together and provided they're compatible, you'll get good results, but it is possible to buy combinations which are not compatible and therefore cause more grief, irrespective of how good the two components are.