Amplification for Sonus Faber Domus Concertinos

Username: Fredrico_alvarez

Post Number: 1
I need advice on a amp/preamp combo for my sonus faber concertinos. the sumiko dealer in milwaukee recomended a Halo by Parasound A23 amp and a P3 preamp. another hi fi shop here raves about rotel, and suggested the RB 1072 amp and RC 1070. both are equally priced at around $1500 to $1600.

Some features that I like about the rotel is the extensive recording options (useful to me because im a musician and record things frequently) and the phono stage is said to be excelent.

Pros for the parasound are slightly more power, balanced connections between the amp and preamp, and it looks about 10 times better.

Has anyone heard these side by side especially with the sonus fabers?

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 12439

I have not heard either brand with the SF's. But I would say you're letting the system down with the Rotel. The Parasound is John Curl's design and offers exceptional quality for a fairly reasonable cost. The personality of the Rotel is, IMO, far, far away from the musical nature of the SF's while the Parasound is more closely related to what the speakers are trying to capture. I would still recommend a long audition period with the Parasound playing with the Sonus Fabers. Without any inidication as to what interests you in sound quality, I can only say you need to make sure the pairing is to your tastes.

Post Number: 3
my intrests are kind of polar opposites, metal and classical.

do you think the rotel dealer would let me bring in the SFs to try with the system.

also, if anyone has other combos around that price range that they'd recommend,I'm open to suggestions

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 12441

"my intrests are kind of polar opposites, metal and classical."