Need help pairing speakers w/Dennon Receiver

Username: Cruser88

West Des Moines, Iowa USA

Post Number: 1
I recently purchased a DENON AVR 2308 CI for use as a home theater/home audio source and need a bit of advice selecting some speakers. I have come to the realization that what I purchased may not be sufficient to run certain higher-quality speakers. I had visions of going with B & W, Paradigm or similar quality speakers--but now fear I may be relinguished to lower quality Klipsch or Energy or something similar. I do not want to spend the coin on high end speakers and be disappointed because I'm not running them correctly. Any thoughts outside of trashing my receiver??? I am very new to this and have been overwhelmed by all that goes into purchasing these things.

This will be the third system in our home, but hopefully the nicest--I've built a "man-cave" in our basement and the system will be placed in a greatroom, so we're not talking ideal accoustics...but not horrible. The speaker wire has been run in the walls--it's very good grade fire-code wire, but it's not bi-wire (if that's the right terminology).

Thanks for any and all input...

Silver Member
Username: Dmitchell

Ottawa, Ontario Canada

Post Number: 807
Energy speakers ain't so bad. I kinda like mine. I like my Klipsch too, but that's sorta an aquired taste.

Platinum Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 10011
Steve, knowing your limitations and wants vs needs is a good start.
The Denon is not bad at all, just has its limitations, and you observation of speaker pairing is likely a good one.
Look for a higher sentsitivity speaker if volume is a big requirement.

There wasa review from Malloy on the CV cls 215 speaker setup the might work,see his post

Otherwise, the field is wide open.

Check the manufacturers websites for stable 8ohm speakers, not dipping too low in impedence, and look for a minimal shift in phase angle, tending towards +.