JBL HTI6C Deceptive Marketing

Username: Ericv

Post Number: 1
Hello all,
I'm new to this forum and wanted to get some feedback regarding the JBL speakers listed in the subject. I purchased 4 sets of these speakers to use in a home I'm remodeling. Upon unboxing the first set I noticed that they appeared smaller than the 6.5 inches advertised on the specifications. They are in fact only 5.5 inches.
I am not an audio expert, but with every other example (manufacturer)I look at a 6.5" speaker is 6.5 inches. JBL gave me a BS story that all speakers are not what they advertise them as. I think its extremely deceptive, and allows JBL price point an unfair advantage over manufacturers that choose to porvide what their specifications say they are provideing.

Am I off base here? Anyone noticed this or have any insight regarding this?

Thanks

Silver Member
Username: Robertinchico

Post Number: 108
Part of the legal leway JBL have is the OVERALL measurement methodology of the speaker. The diameter of the entire UNIT may be 6.5 inches as they state, but the actual driver surface area measurement (subtracting the surround, say) could easily be only 4.5" or so.
You're certainly not off base voicing your concern here. I constantly want people to not get ripped off, that's why I share my experiences.
Did you call JBL and talk to someone?

Username: Ericv

Post Number: 2
Thanks for replying chicobiker. I did call JBL and the response I received only annoyed me further. This fellow explained in a very fatherly way that "much like car audio, if the speaker diameter was truly 6.5 inches that it would not fit in the 6.5" hole that our consumers expect when they order a 6.5 inch speaker." what a joke.