Denon 2308 v 1708

Username: Kiad

Bayside, Ny USA

Post Number: 1
Hey I'm relatively new to buying receivers. I'm trying to get a receiver to match my home theater setup with HD front projector, PS3, 4 JBL stadium speakers, 1 JBL voice speaker and, 1 12 inch JBL woofer. I have about 1.5k in bestbuy gift cards so I am somewhat limited to what they carry. I'm replacing an entry level Sony receiver which sounds TERRIBLE (STR-610 or something).

That being said, I was looking at getting the Denon receivers either 2308 ($850) or 1708 ($500). They both seem to have the exact same specs except for a 25 watt difference per channel. Its hard to really test the receivers in stores. Does anyone know if there is a difference between the build quality of a higher end receiver than a mid range from the same company aside from wattage differences? Would 75 watts a channel be too underpowered for JBL staduims? Any other differences that might not show up on the spec sheet that I should be aware of?

Gold Member
Username: Frank_abela

Berkshire UK

Post Number: 2793
kevin,

The minimum Denon to go for at the moment is the 2808 since this is the one that can cope with the new Blu-ray uncompressed audio formats (Dolby TrueHD and DTS Master Audio). At the 2308 price or less, look at the Onkyo receivers. Everything from the onkyo TX-SR605 upwards can keep you future-proofed with those formats.

In fact, you don't HAVE to have the trueHD and Master Audio capabilities. If the AV receiver can receive uncompressed PCM, the unpacking (of TrueHD or Master Audio streams) can be performed in the player and sent down the HDMI connection as purely uncompressed PCM.

Of course, if you have no intention of ever going down the Blu-ray route you won't need this functionality, but I'd argue this is quite a blinkered approach as I can see Blu-ray ousting standard DVD eventually.

Regards,
Frank.

Username: Kiad

Bayside, Ny USA

Post Number: 2