Total newbie looking for help!

Username: Darkhound

Post Number: 1
Hello,

Hopefully one of you experts can help me out. I'm getting married and a relative is insisting on buying me a gift. So what the heck, I've always wanted speakers, so I decided to go for that. I have little idea about what a good speaker entails, having only researched online for an hour or so.

They have to be bookshelf speakers (I'm transporting them on an airplane after purchase) and the price range is around 1000USD, possibly a bit higher. I listen to a whole bunch of stuff... violin, symphony, rock, jazz, vocals. I also hope to hook it up to my TV if that's possible, making it part of my surround system in the future.

I live in a smallish condo, but will be moving to a bigger room/house in a couple years, if that makes any difference.

Soo... what are the best bookshelf speakers out there for $1000 bucks?

Any other info I should provide?

Thanks so much!

Silver Member
Username: Jazzman71

Phoenix, AZ USA

Post Number: 107
Welcome John.

Don't think I'm putting you off, but it's very difficult for us to give you any suggestions without knowing more about what you are looking for and I doubt you are able to tell us that after one hour of research.

Also, why would you want to haul these things with you as opposed to buying them when you get settled. In other words, tell the relatives to give you a check and you'll figure it out later. Do more research and consider what else these will be paired with so you can match them up properly and whether your system will be used for mostly HT or audio, etc.

Besides, money is much easier to carry on airplanes.

Congratulations BTW.

Username: Darkhound

Post Number: 2