Grace, Andante, Thorens

Username: Kodi41

Post Number: 1
Hello everyone,

I was serching for information about this Cartridge I have- it is an Andante F-9E, which after some searching I found out it is a Grace F-9E. This cart. is like new.

I was wondering, presently I am using a Thorens TD-318mk2 with a grado Black, I also have a Shure Ultra 400 as well, but the stylus is bad (looking for one and found it). Of these three which one would you vinyl gurus believe to be the best, the Shure I am told is one of best ever made, the Adante I have never used, but I have been told it too is very very good, and expensive as well.

While I am a master tech. I do not have the correct equipment to install and properly set up a new cart. hence the question, would I do well in changing out the cart. with either the Adante or the Shure (I have a new stylus comming for it) or should I just sell them both? I rarely, if ever, use the T/T and have been considering selling it as well, but I have 70 or so records that I have no Idea what to do with, is it worth the update?

Thanks for any advice.

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 12186

Why don't you use the table? If you find it inconvenient, a new cartridge won't change that.

Bronze Member
Username: Msgtpogi

NJ

Post Number: 13