In search of amplification....suggestions?

Username: Hamrick

Post Number: 1
Hello all, thank you in advance for any insight you have to offer. I am just beginning to build a new two channel, music only, system. I am now shopping for the pre/amp combo, and will consider integrateds, however, I only have one hi-fi shop within about 75 miles. They have Bryston and Rotel. The Bryston products I really like, (4B SST especially) but would prefer to spend a little less. The Rotels I am just not to fond of. If I drive about 100 miles I have access to Anthem, Musical Fidelity, and Adcom. If anybody has any experience with these products give me your opinion. Is it worth the drive? If it is of any revelance to your thought process, the speakers are Paradigm Studio 60s.

Bronze Member
Username: Wattsssup

Barrie, ON Canada

Post Number: 84
Hey Jon,

I think its worth the extra drive the hear your other options.

A friend of mine has an Anthem tube amp which sounds pretty good in his setup, but lacks depth and detail when hooked up to mine (sounds quite bad actually). It's like there's missing alot of the music that I get from my own amplification. We were both thinking that my speakers do not mate well with it. We both had the feeling that the amp lacked the power to properly drive them. But I must say, in his system, it performs much better (his speakers are probably easier to drive). Worth a listen IMO with speakers that will mate well with them, but without listening, you'll never know.

Same friend use to have a Musical Fidelity A3 integrated which we've previously connected to his and my system. Some people don't like em, but I think it's more about your own preference in how you want your music to sound. It wasn't the most detailed we've ever connected, but it did have a very warm sound that was very nice and highly noticeable. Again, not for everybody.