Marantz PM7001, Rotel RA1062, or NAD C372?

Username: Russellstrustler

Post Number: 1
Hi,

I'm looking at upgrading from an old mini system to a decent integrated amp. I've talked to a few retailers and done a bit of reading on the internet and am going to have a listen to a Marantz PM7001, a Rotel RA1062, and a NAD C372.

All these are within my price range so I'm planning to base my choice on the sound I like. Initially I will be running the amp through crappy speakers but will upgrade these as soon as possible.

I would love to recieve any advice/opinions on what you think would be the best choice, or If you think there is something else I should look at.

Cheers

Silver Member
Username: Dmitchell

Ottawa, Ontario Canada

Post Number: 137
I have no experience with Marantz or Rotel gear, but I can vouch for the NAD - good, warm sound with lots of power. From what I've read, however, I think the Rotel is considered a better piece of equipment.

You won't really notice that much of a difference upgrading to new amp until you upgrade your "crappy speakers", though. So don't be disappointed when you bring you're new amp home and think you just wasted your money ;-)

Bronze Member
Username: Nickelbut10

Canada

Post Number: 20
Craig, I have listened to all three. All three are nice pieces. As far as build quality goes, the Rotel wins. As far as sound quality goes, I liked the NAD the best. To me, for music, the Rotel is too bright and when played at very high levels I found myself covering my ears. The Marantz has a nice midrange but lacked the "UMPH" the NAD had. The NAD is so warm with a really nice base, and with tones of head room. If it were me choosing between those three right now, I would pick the NAD C372. David has a point, I would try to upgrade your speakers at the same time.

Silver Member

Ottawa, Ontario Canada

Post Number: 138