Speakers and Wattage - Question

Bronze Member
Username: Nachoman91

Cincinnati, OH USA

Post Number: 34
I have a very dumb question but I am a novice so feel free to laugh at me.

I have a receiver/amp that says 50W per channel. Will I be able to connect a pair of 120 Watt speakers to this?

Can someone explain this to me. Does a pair of 120W speakers mean that each speaker is 60W or each 120W and does this number need to the the same or less than the wattage per channel my receiver/amp is rated? I do not fully understand this. What is the max size speaker I can connect to a receiver/amp that says it's 50W per channel.

Silver Member
Username: Davidpa

Portland, Oregon US

Post Number: 421
120wpc, per speaker.
You could connect a speaker rated at 600wpc if you so chose.
The limiting factor here is the 50wpc reciever, as it will only output so many watts, and if this is an "all in one" like I think it is, then actual power is more along the lines of 25-30wpc actual output.
You could harm your speakers, or pre for that matter if you try to get more out of the reciever than it can deliver.
The speakers impedence will play a factor also, 8ohm will play louder, 6ohm will tax your reciever, and 4ohm is a no no if you are using an "all in one" reciever.
Theres much more, but I've gotta get to work. Others here will chime in to help as the day goes on.

Gold Member
Username: Arande2

Extreme SQ FTW

Post Number: 2055
Ding Dong Ding Dooong, Ding Dong Ding Doooong!

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 10101