To AMP or not to AMP

Username: A1voyager1

Post Number: 1
I am setting up a Home Theater System im my living room. The size of the room is 18 x 15 with 8 foot ceilings. I currently have a Pioneer Elite VSX-52TX, Bose Acoustimass 7(sub with 5 satelites) and a Polaroid DRM-2001G Player/Recorder. I am not happy with the way the rear surround channels sound and the base I get from the system. I am thinking of getting a amplifier to connect to my receiver to help drive the surround speaker and subwoofer. Since I am new to all this, any help or suggestions will be appreciated. Thank You

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 10038

It ain't the receiver that's at fault.

Post Number: 2
If it is not the receiver, any sugestions on how I can correct this problem

Gold Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 6435
I have never heard of a Kodak player.
I have heard of(and heard, Bose).

Speakers, man, speakers.

Bose are not held in the highest regard here, unless the 601/701's come up.

Platinum Member

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 10040

You'll have to describe the problem. "I am not happy with the way the rear surround channels sound and the base I get from the system", tells me jack sqaut. The bass is due to the Bose "subwoofer" in all likelyhood. But I really have no clue wht you find wrong.

Gold Member

Post Number: 6440
The problem, Jan, i think, is that the Bose are working as designed.

Gold Member

Post Number: 6441
A crying shame, really.

Gold Member

Post Number: 6442
Vinnie, you really REALLY gotta get out and listen to speakers.

Post Number: 3
I have thought about cahnging my spekaers but can not afford to upgrade all at the same time. Do you think I should start at on speaker like the center channel, subwoofer, rear speakers or front to gat the best sound a piece at a time. Does it really make a difference what speakers are used for the rear since some people say you don't get much from back there.

Silver Member
Username: Serniter