Smoking Maggies

Username: Zgauthier

Post Number: 1
I know I'm not a regular here or anything, but I'm really not sure where else to ask... I own a pair of Magneplanar SMGa's. They're totally awesome. I live in a college dorm. I've had lots of fun scaring all the residents with loud, continuous 12,000hz tones. Today I did this again. But this time the speakers made little crackling noises and smoke came out of them.

Being a college student I can't really afford to replace these, they were a gift. They don't sound any different to me since the smoking but I'm concerned nonetheless.

Can anyone explain to me why they would have smoked like they did? Did I just ruin the nicest pair of speakers I've ever owned?}

Silver Member
Username: Gavdawg

Upstate, New York

Post Number: 374
go to the planar forum on this website and ask them...

www.audioasylum.com

you will more likely get a better response there. I am a maggie owner, but have never heard of this.

Platinum Member
Username: Project6

Post Number: 13269
What receiver were you using?

12,000 hz tones?

Why?

Gold Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 9934

Smoke came from a speaker made of Mylar and you want to know if something went wrong.

Post Number: 2
I'm using a Technics SA-DX750. The maggies are the only thing it's driving.

The tones were really just for fun, they carry really, really far. I just wasn't aware they could also cause fires. I think it's possible I melted some of the mylar, but I'm no expert as to how the maggies are set up inside.

Still I can't really tell any difference. I've tried piping identical frequencies of sound out both the left and right channels separately(smoke only came out of the right one as far as I know) and they both sound the same. Also tried it with white noise, music, whatever, all seems to sound the same. Maybe whatever caught on fire wasn't a critical part of the speaker.

Platinum Member

Post Number: 13274