Amp for Dynaudio

Username: Kmd

Washington, DC USA

Post Number: 1
I am a newbie looking for an integrated amp and cd player for Dynaudio Contour 1.3 mk II speakers. I am also in line to get an old Rega turntable so I want the amp to have a phono input. I mainly listen to rock, jazz and reggae. My budget is around $2500 for both the amp and the cd player. I am considering the Rega Mira 3 and Apollo but would appreciate any thoughts or recommendations. Thanks.

This is my first post but I have been reading this forum for a while and have found it very helpful. Keep up the good work.

Thanks.

Gold Member
Username: Artk

Albany, Oregon USA

Post Number: 3900
I love my Mira 3 but it's driving the very easy to drive Rega R5 speakers. It won't have the necessary grunt to drive your Dyn's effectively. Also, again I love my Apollo but it's a little below the Contours potential for performance...think Saturn. I think that you should perhaps look on Audiogon for used gear.

http://www.audiogon.com/

Bronze Member
Username: Quaintdreamer

TrivandrumIndia

Post Number: 11
Consider Naim Nait 5i

Gold Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 5734
I think Ravi Bains here is running an Adcom amp with those Contours.
Right on the speaks, not sure on the amp.
Frank?

Washington, DC USA

Post Number: 2
Art, thanks for the input, I was afraid that might be the case with the Mira. My budget (which appears to have been somewhat naive) is somewhat flexible and could stretch a bit if necessary.

Gold Member

Post Number: 5747
A naive budget? In Audio?
Nawwwww....

Gold Member
Username: Frank_abela

Berkshire UK

Post Number: 1900
KMD