Denon 1803 with 4 Ohm Impedence Speakers???

I have recently saved up my pennies and bought myself a Denon 1803 AV receiver. I am currently saving for some speakers, (I am leaning toward JBL Studio series II, please someone tell me if they think this is not wise) and because I would like to actually hear what surround sound actually sounds like in my own home, I am thinking about using some old speakers that I have acquired.

I would be using four speakers that are from older mini hifi systems (2 x L&R). The impedence on all four speakers is only 4 Ohms each. Is my receiver going to like being connected to these speakers, or is there a chance that the speakers won't be happy with the output of the Denon? I think the manual asks for 8 Ohm speakers.

This would only be a temporary solution until I can save up enough money to afford some decent speakers.

Please help me if you can as I am pretty new to this and would appreciate all the help that I can get.

Hawk
Dave:

I appreciate your dilemma, but you risk serious damage to your new Denon receiver running 4 ohm speakers, especially if you run four of them. It may well have a safety fuse that will blow before damage to the circuitry, but I still wouldn't risk it. Run two of them only, and only at a low volume.

If you want five channel surround sound with your Denon, you will need to get a good system that has five 8 ohm speakers. Find a speaker that you like to listen to for music, and that can be purchased in pieces (i.e., buy a pair of mains first, later buy a center channel when you can afford it, finally buy your surrounds).

There are a lot of very good speaker lines where you can build your 5 channel sound in pieces as you get the money together. NHT, KEF, PSB, etc. all offer good speakers that would present a stable load for your receiver.

Good luck

Ken Emrith