Bookshelf Speaker Recommendations for HK 3480

Username: Heimdall

Post Number: 1
Hello everyone. I am new to the audiophile scene and am in the process of building my first stereo system. I have the HK 3480 and would like some suggestions on which speakers would go best with this receiver. After trying to read as many reviews and posts as possible I've narrowed down the list to:

Energy RC-10
Axiom M22
Ascend 170SE
Rocket RS150

My price range is around $500 and I listen to 85% metal, 10% classical/jazz and 5% movies. The listening area is a standard dorm room. Right now I am leaning towards the Energy RC-10s which I can get new for $385. Whichever speaker I decide on, I was planning to add a sub.

I know the best option would be to go audition as many speakers as possible, but I am kinda stuck in the middle of nowhere and haven't found any audio shops.

Also there are a pair of Totem Rainmakers on Audiogon listed for 550. Any opinions on getting this used pair vs the Energys?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Silver Member
Username: Stefanom

Vienna, VA United States

Post Number: 281
I would take a look at offerings from Klipsch as well, in regards to your preference for metal.

Silver Member
Username: Gamerdude

Ontario Canada

Post Number: 353
Checks these out
http://www.jr.com/JRProductPage.process?Product=4086581&JRSource=nsa&nsa=1

On the klipshc site
http://www.klipsch.com/products/details/rb-81.aspx

Silver Member
Username: Davidpa

Portland, Oregon US

Post Number: 286
NHT classic threes.

Silver Member
Username: Davidpa

Portland, Oregon US

Post Number: 287
BTW, the rainmakers everyday over the Energy's

Gold Member
Username: Suleman36

Post Number: 4213
I have a HK-3480 and have been looking for 2 bookshelfs aswell.

I listen to mostly hiphop and dance.

What whould you recommend if my budget was $500 for speakers/sub. Whould i be better off to find a subwoofer and do a 2.1 setup off the HK-3480 ?

Stephen ?

Silver Member

Vienna, VA United States