Wharfedale vs. Athena Bookshelf Speakers with Subwoofer. Advice?

Username: Thereverend

Post Number: 3
I am a poor college student getting ready to move and I want to set up a system in my bedroom. It is a small room and I think bookshelf speakers would work well with my room and NAD 7000 50 watt/channel receiver. I am looking to go very budget on the whole system with the possible addition of a subwoofer if funds become available. I was looking at the Dayton subs on partsexpress for something inexpensive. I want to spend around $300 (maybe a little more, maybe a little less) for everything.

I listen to a lot of music, but mostly rock (90%) and jazz (10%). I also enjoy world music and generally just like music. Thanks for any advice!

Silver Member
Username: Exerciseguy

Brooklyn, NY USA

Post Number: 792
I would suggest the Infinity Primus 160, Wharfdale Diamond 8.2, or Athena AS-B2.2, all can be had for under $200. The Parts Express Dayton SUB-100 (which WAS just on sale for $99, sorry) is $125 and has a pretty good rep, though I haven't heard it. For music-mostly, you might want to save a few $$$ and skip the sub.

Silver Member

Brooklyn, NY USA

Post Number: 793
If $300 is the budget, and your intent on spending it, I would skip the sub, and purchase the Wharfedale Diamond 9.2 here for under 3-bills http://ayselectronics.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=155_181&product s_id=1462&zenid=a45338ec14578e290a829f98fcd2b629

Gold Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 5038
Good link, CM.
I heard the Athena B2.2 a while back, they were OK.

Silver Member

Brooklyn, NY USA

Post Number: 794
I agree Nuck, the Athenas OK...maybe a little more than OK, the Infinity Primus 160's are better, the Whafedale 8.2's are much better, the 9.2's might be the best.

Post Number: 4
Ok,

I am really tempted by the wharfedale 9.2. Will these provide enough punch without a sub? I will spend some time watching movies on it. If I buy those, I couldn't afford a sub.

Post Number: 5