Receiver for b&w 602's

Username: Gov

Post Number: 1
hello all--

i have b&w 602's and i am leaning towards the marantz 7001 avr. i have the lcr60 and some in wall cwm650's in the back. hsu stf-3 sub. any thought son this receiver with these speakers?

i also was real interested in the rotel 1057 but i need 7.1 since i have a second zone. i suppose i could add a cheap two chanel amp since the second zone is only kitchen cooking music. the rotel turned me off a bit since i did not feel (but i am by NO means an expert) it was very strong in the video side of things--limited surround modes--lack of audio pass through over hdmi etc. also not sure about the 75 wpc rating--the marantz is rated at 110 wpc. not sure how big a deal the extra 35 wpc is but it is about 50% more power nonetheless. i have heard rotel is among the most accurate ratings but i have also heard marantz is pretty accurate as well.

does anyone have any other suggestions for avr's with my speakers at around $1000 with hdmi?? also needs to fit on a 17" shelf so the pioneer's and a few others are out.

thanks in advance.

gov

Platinum Member
Username: Project6

Post Number: 11642
Take a look at the Pioneer Elite series of receivers. I think they work well with Bowers and Wilkins.

Post Number: 2
thanks berny--the pio's are too deep at almost 18" before the speaker connects so they will not work.

any other ideas?

Platinum Member

Post Number: 11646
ooops, sorry about that, I did not see the size requirements.

How about getting a bigger shelf, it'll be a shame to narrow down the receivers because of size :-)

Is HDMI a must?

Post Number: 3
well the situation is dictating a few things here. the shelf is a built in system about 8 feet wide by 11.5 feet high so that's not going anywhere ;) and since this is the only thing that possibly will not fit (meaning the cdp, dvd, cable etc WILL fit), i need to stay in these parameters.

the marantz is only something like 15 inches.