NAD, Rotel, Outlaw...???

Username: Stevenforrey

Post Number: 1
Hi all,

I've got the itch to replace my old Carver receiver and am looking for some of your collective wisdom.

I'm not really an audiophile (that is, I'm not really up on what's current in the field) but I am a musician (jazz, mainly) with fairly good ears -- I appreciate accurate, uncolored sound.

I've just replaced my old Allison Six speakers with even older (but mint!) Allison Ones, and I've been really pleased with the sound from these speakers plus my new Cambridge Audio Azur 640C cd player. To my ears this CD player was a revelation.

So - I'm thinking about a new amp/receiver. I'm a cheapskate and want the best sound for the buck. Also, Allisons are not very efficient speakers and need a bit of power. With all of that info, what say you?

I'm thinking about the new Outlaw receiver, the NAD 320BEE, a Cambridge Audio Azur amp, Rotel, etc, etc.

Are these all preferable to good vintage gear (like an old Marantz receiver)?

Any thoughts appreciated!

Best,
Steve

Gold Member
Username: Chitown

Post Number: 1304
I don't know the Cambridge Audio, but I don't think you will go wrong with any of the other three.

Gold Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 4336
Steven, the 320 is a good, solid unit. I would(as always) look a bit higher in the Nad line for reserves of power.
Not receivers, though.

Gold Member
Username: Artk

Albany, Oregon USA

Post Number: 3595
I believe that the Allison's would do fine with any of those amps and receivers. Like Nuck I would probably look at least one model up in the NAD line to the 352 but I do believe that the 325BEE would drive your speakers. The bit more grunt that you get with the 352 would give you better control of the low frequencies. The Rotel integrated and receiver both have a pretty good phono section if that is a consideration.

Username: Stevenforrey

Post Number: 2