Beginner stereo

Username: Mperloff

Post Number: 1
Hey guys, this post might sound familiar, but here goes:

I'm a college student with a little money in my pocket, and i'm looking to blow it on a relatively inexpensive stereo sound system.

I'm pretty set on a HK 3480 for a receiver, and now I'm looking into my speaker options. From reading this board, i've come up with a few ideas, but I can't decide the best way to invest my money - in a pair of floorstanding speakers (the Athena AS-F2 seem to pretty universally lauded) or a pair of bookshelf speakers (maybe Athena B1.2) and a sub (maybe HSU STF-1).

I'd be using the speakers 100% for music. I'm living in a dorm for the next year, and after that i'd probably be in some tiny apartment somewhere - so i guess that might be a strike against getting the system with the sub, as it might annoy the hell out of everyone around me.

I listen to everything - jazz, metal, classical, rock, hiphop - all basically in equal measure. I'm a big fan of bass - i'm really into loud, low drone/metal. I'm not sure if you guys listen to Sunn0))), or Earth, but i'm looking for something to handle pulsating, very low distorted bass. Really though, i'm looking for the best possible sound across the board, as my tastes change fairly frequently - having something that could handle pretty extreme bass would be a cherry on top.

So i'm wondering what the basic sonic differences would be between my two proposed setups, and what you guys think would fit for me. And if you have any other speaker suggestions, that'd be great too.

I'm gonna be playing music off of my computer, at least for now, but down the road i'll surely look at cd players.

Oh, and I'm looking to spend max $500 on some combination of speakers and subs.

Thanks so much - I realize you guys get a lot of these types of questions, and I appreciate your patience
Mark

Silver Member
Username: Hawk

Highlands Ranch, CO USA

Post Number: 941
Mark: