Novice building system around NAD

Username: Blue_devil

Austin, Texas

Post Number: 1
I am an absolute beginner trying to assemble a good stereo system on a limited budget. I am primarily interested in good music over home theatre and so far plan to purchase the following components, but need advice from the forum.

NAD C720BEE stereo receiver (already purchased)
NAD C542 CD player (already purchased)
NAD C272 or C372 amplifier (help needed)
Axiom M80 v2 (to purchase)
Axiom M3 v2 (help needed)
Belkin PureAV PF60 power console (already purchased)
SilverSonic T-14 speaker cables (need help)
SiverSonic BL-1 series II interconnects (need help)
Purist Audio Burn-in CD (need help)
XLO Test and Burn-in CD (need help)
Salamander Synergy audio tower (need help)

I plan to use the M80s for stereo and the M3s laying on their sides as a poor man's center speaker for the TV using the AB switch on the NAD receiver. Is this crazy? Would I be better off with with a center channel speaker? I may want to use the M3s later in a bedroom/office system.

I am clueless as to the difference between an integrated amp and a stereo amp. Would either work with the equipment I listed? Would the C272 be a better choice for stereo? If I eventually upgrade from a receiver to a separate preamp and tuner, would the C272 be better?

Any suggestions regarding the cables and interconnects? Is this overkill or not enough?

Any ideas on burn-in CDs? Any recommendations on reference music that would show the quality of the stereo over different ranges and classes of music?

Any recommendations on the Salamander Synergy audio tower (single 40)? Would sides, a door and a back on this tower cause the audio components to overheat?

Would I be able to connect a NAD phonograph to the system listed or is a preamp necessary?

Thanks for the answers. You guys are the best.

Austin, Texas

Post Number: 2
One more question. How do you pronounce NAD? Is it NAD (with each letter spoken)like SAT or nad like tad?