RMS watts

Username: Lyndal34

BrisbaneAustralia

Post Number: 1
Hallo, complete novice here. Iam selling my teac floor speakers, and was asked how many RMS watts they are? Doesn't that depend on the amp being used? The only info I have about them as there are no stickers, is that they are 8-16 ohms, have tweeter, s.woof and woof, are 2 feet high and have a massive sound. My amp is apparently 185 watt consumption, and on a volume scale of 1 to 10, 3 is massively loud, but clear in bass, medium and treble. Can anyone help me?

Gold Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 9049

The amp has the watts, the speakers use those watts. The person asking the question is probably used to car audio, where massive numbers are desired. The numbers mean nothing, but they are desired. The electrical wattage consumption of your amplifier also means nothing in regard to how many watts it produces into a loudspeaker load.

Since there are no numbers which adequately describe what you've been asked to provide, I would suggest three possible answers. 1) My amp does 185 watts and they play loud. 2) How many watts are you planning to use? The speakers should handle that if you don't distort the amplifier. I've played very loud and they aren't damaged in any way. 3) I've been told there is no proper answer for that question. Would you like to bring some music over and listen to them play?

Username: Lyndal34

BrisbaneAustralia

Post Number: 2
Thank you for your help Jan, much appreciated.Your recommended answers are just what I should do, so thanks again. This question has sparked an interest to understand more about these things.
Cheers!

Gold Member
Username: Petergalbraith

Rimouski, Quebec Canada

Post Number: 1785
The electrical wattage consumption of your amplifier also means nothing in regard to how many watts it produces into a loudspeaker load.

To quote[1] someone on the forum:
When taken literally, you are quite literally incorrect, sir.