Need help

Username: Dhansen1

Post Number: 1
I want to upgrade surround sound and our stereo receiver. I do not have a store within 100 miles. So I need help, please.
I will keep the speakers they are Klipsch RF-7 series on both units.
I have 2 onkyo tx 840 {1985}and a technic's cd player {1990}.
When I am running the receiver a little hard for a couple of hours it kick's out.
Denon avr 3803???
CD???
Dennis

Post Number: 2
What am I doing wrong? No posts...I am new at this thread stuff.
I have found out that my old Onkyo has 150 watts per channel and the denon 3803 only has 120/channel x 8.....what am I missing?
My equipment is old and it has shut down on me several times. I am running two rf-7 on A and two rb-35 on B. The runs are somewhat long 35' so I upgraded to heavy speaker wire and it did not help. Took my other identical receiver and hooked it up and it blows the internal breaker also After 15-20 minutes it works again. So it must not have enough power.
So I thought buy new.........and have no idea what to get since I read at one time different speakers need diferent drivers. Never had a problem since my old speakers were 24 years old and thought that they could not be beat. The klipsch's are amazing.
Do I need an amp? If so what?

Gold Member
Username: Petergalbraith

Rimouski, Quebec Canada

Post Number: 1749
The RF-7 are a difficult load, dropping below 4 ohm at some frequency (I'd have to look it up). You'll need a receiver with a good amp section, or plug in a separate amplifier from the receiver pre-outs.

Ask on the Klipsch forum too: http://forums.klipsch.com/forums/

Gold Member
Username: Project6

Post Number: 9176
For that kind of budget, you may want to take a look at Outlaw Audio. They can handle a lot of difficult speaker loads withou so much as a hiccup.

http://www.outlawaudio.com/

Bronze Member
Username: Eib_nation

Ohio EIBville

Post Number: 80
Dennis,