I'm totally lost...

Username: Jimgrky

Post Number: 1
Hi, first off, i am relativly a complete newbie with turntables so please be patient. I just recieved a new Project Debut III turntable (with stock cartridge-Ortofon i think) and have run into trouble. I am getting sound, just not a whole lot of it. Turned all the way up, the sound is still very soft. I don't believe i need a preamp (but maybe i do but i dont even really know how that all works) because it is compatable with my stereo system through the EXT, which works fine with my ipod stereo connecter. I really don't know where to go from here, perhaps it has something to do with the cartridge i really don't know. Please help!!!

Silver Member
Username: Daniel_canada

Canada

Post Number: 112
You need a phono pre-amp. Does you reveiver/amp have a phono input on the back? If not look at a seperate phono pre-amp. A basic but deceent phono-pre amp might set you back a cool hun, but worth it. Turntable require a special preamp That's a nice table (I have read). Find a decent local audio store, they can help you. Don't go to the box store asking help with a turntable!! Really, never buy audio from a box store!

Silver Member

Canada

Post Number: 113
Most consumer receivers don't come with a phono preamp. The output from the turntable is so weak that your receiver has no real signal to deal with, hence you have to turn it all the way up.

phono = record player = turntable, all the same just different names that seperate the newbies from the pros. :P

Gold Member
Username: Stu_pitt

Irvington, New York USA

Post Number: 1421
To further on what Dan is saying, TT's need a true phono input. Your dealer should have told you this. The problem isn't the table or cartridge.

A phono pre-amp has special equalising (RIAA), and boosts the signal from the table. The reason why you're not getting any sound (very little actually) is because the signal isn't strong enough. This is normal.