Which Amp would suit best?????

Username: Padi89

Post Number: 1
Hi,I currently own a NAD C542 which i was using along with a headphone amp for most of my listening but recently i have moved and i find its time for a speaker setup.My speakers will be Monitor RS1
http://www.monitoraudio.com/products/silver/series/techspecs1.htm
but i am unsure as to which amp would suit best.My two choices are,as they are both available locally to me are the NAD C352 or NAD C372
http://www.nadelectronics.com/hifi_amplifiers/C352_framset.htm
or
http://www.nadelectronics.com/hifi_amplifiers/C372_framset.htm

Im totally new to speaker setups and i dont really have a clue as regards ohms watts etc.So which out of the two would be best suited to my speakers?
Any help would be greatly appreciated.Thanks ,Patrick.

Gold Member
Username: Frank_abela

Berkshire UK

Post Number: 1384
Patrick,

Either the 352 or the 372 will do the job well. The RS1s are a relatively easy load so they don't tax amplifiers too much. The C542 is a really good CD player too. Have you considered what interconnects you'll use? If you go with a stock cheapo item then you'll lose a lot of the benefit of the electronics. Same goes for speaker cable. It doesn't have to be expensive stuff so long as it's reasonably good quality cable. Here in the UK I'd be looking at something like Chord Cobra interconnect (£60 for 1m) and Chord Carnival Silver Plus speaker cable (£5.49/m) with nice soldered banana plugs (£2.50 each) on either end. If that little lot blows your budget with the 372 then go for the 352. The chain is only as good as your weakest link and cables do come into the equation - even at the lower end.

Regards,
Frank.

Username: Padi89

Post Number: 2
Hi Frank,