Starting to go Hi Fi or Mid Fi need help.

Username: Music4life

KowloonHong Kong

Post Number: 1
I am considering to purchase:

NAD 372 + NAD C521BEE and B&W CM1.

Is this a good system to replace my 12 year old system? Or shall I consider other combination? It should be with the same price range as mentioned above.

I have BOSE Acoustimass 5 II + NAD C340 and a Sony DVP as CDP. This is still a decent system IMO. Thanks everybody!

Gold Member
Username: Frank_abela

Berkshire UK

Post Number: 1385
Why do people always go light on the source??? The source is literally the source of the signal that gets amplified and then reproduced for your ears to hear. The better the signal, the better the result. Obviously there are limits, but source-first is a good principle to adopt when building systems. So for similar money, you should get a more musical result with a C542/352 than with a C521/372.

I have no experience of the B&W CM1 so I cannot comment on its abilities. However, the 352 is a powerful amplifier so it should be able to drive the CM1s fine. I don't know what other speakers are available in HK. Here are three that I rate highly in a similar price range here in the UK - Dynaudio Audience 42, Totem Dreamcatcher, Avi Neutron IV.

Regards,
Frank.

KowloonHong Kong

Post Number: 2
I believe the only difference between the 2 models is the 542's HDCD capability which for the price difference is not worth it. HDCD disk is a rare commodity here and if there is, it is 3X the price of the regular CD.

DYN 42 = HKD2,000 higher
Totem and the other one is not available here. There's a shop here that sells the B&W CM1 that offers 10% discount so I will go for it.

KowloonHong Kong

Post Number: 4