Any suggestions for an extremely cheap system?

Username: Crazy_horse

Post Number: 1
Hello, all. Been browsing the forums and I decided I'd go for it and just ask for some advice.

I recently graduated from college. As you might imagine, I'm not exactly rolling in cash right now. On the other hand, I've gotten some money in the way of graduation presents, and it's not going to do me any good sitting in a savings account somewhere.

I'm sick of listening to music on my computer speakers, which I've been doing for the last four years or so. I have around 400 dollars to spend on a stereo setup. I could push it and spend 500, and I'd prefer to spend even less than 400 (but I know that's not likely).

I listen mostly to jazz and "classical" CDs, but I also have a fairly extensive collection of soul, metal, hip hop, carnatic indian ragas, etc etc., split between CDs and LPs.

To get to the point: does anyone have any suggestions as to how I should approach putting together a decent and cheap stereo system for regular close listening? I know I don't want to waste money on one of those ridiculous "boom box" setups that you find at box stores like best buy, but I really don't have the money to spend on anything but the lowest of the high end. Are there any obvious solutions to my problem (which is that I am poor but don't want to settle for horrible sound quality when listening to music)? Should I just stick with my headphones for now, or is there some way to piece together a good (enough) stereo system at my meager price point?

Just to clarify: I already have a decent phonograph that I'd like to use. It doesn't have a preamp, so the receiver would need to have a phono input. Also, I have a pair of Grado SR-80s that I've grown to love, and I would like to use them as well from time to time, although I'm not sure it would make much of a difference in choosing any part of the setup.

Silver Member
Username: Kano

BC Canada

Post Number: 966