Project Debut III setup sounds too dry...Help!

Username: Jonnysheff

Menlo Park, CA USA

Post Number: 4
I'm a vinyl newbie and need some help pinpointing the next step to take in upgrading/troubleshooting my system. I recently got my hands on a Pro-ject Debut III and absolutely love it. Thanks to the tips in another post, I found a nice carbon fiber brush and have since noticed a large decrease in background noise and static during playback.

The problem that I notice is that the overall sound seems a bit crispy (other adjectives that come to mind are: dry, forward, raspy...lacking warmth). Otherwise, things are superb.

Which weak link in a setup leads to such symptoms? I'm running the Debut III with stock Ortofon OMB 5E cartridge and pushing it through a budget preamp (TC-750 from phonopreamps.com). Amplification is handled by a Yamaha 5840 receiver with processing turned off ("direct stereo"). Speakers are B&W DM601 S3.

Records have been cleaned using Discwasher (wet) and aforementioned carbon brush. I'm assuming that the root could be any combination of:
-crap cartridge
-crap preamp (i have my eye on the Bellari...comments?)
-vibration/acoustic interference affecting table
-cables
-table setup (alignment, weights, etc)

Intuition suggests that a desire for increased warmth in playback warrants moving to a tube preamp like the Bellari. But I would hate to blow $250 while ignoring another possible problem, so comment away. Thanks!

Bronze Member
Username: Ravbains

MelbourneAustralia

Post Number: 70
Hi John,

I don't have any answers, but I have good intentions :-)

Trying to be practical is there anyway you can get a Bellari on loan from your local friendly neighbourhood hifi dealer? Or 2nd best go listen to Bellari with a Debut III/OMB5E.

That way you could start to solve the problem by a process of elimination.