Upgrade?

Bronze Member
Username: Crl21

Ann Arbor, Michigan USA

Post Number: 16
I'm thinking of doing an upgrade to my system, but I'm not sure what would be the next logical step. I have a pair of Paradigm mini monitors an Arcam A65 plus amplifier and a Arcam 73 CD player. Should I step up the speakers, add a power amplifier? I'm relatively new to this world so I'm not sure what would be next. I could drop about another $1,000 give or take a bit. Thanks.

Gold Member
Username: Gavincumm

New York USA

Post Number: 1139
Personally, I would upgrade the speakers. As much as I like those speakers for their price point, I can see them being the week link in that system.

can you give the dimensions of your room please?

Bronze Member

Ann Arbor, Michigan USA

Post Number: 17
The room is relatively small and somewhat awkwardly shaped. It's 21' 10" x 13' 10". The speakers sit only about 9 feet from the listening area. You can check out the exact layout at this website (you may have to copy and paste this link).

http://housing.umich.edu/northwood/overview/index.php?northwood=V&type=2bedroom& floorplans=1&typename=Two%20Bedroom

The speakers sit about two feet from the wall one is very near the corner of the room with a sliding glass door on one side and the wall on the other. The other speaker sits at the bottom of a set of stairs. I've moved them out from the walls as far as possible, but I just don't have a ton of space. Of course I won't live in this place forever. I'm currently a student. I'll graduate in two years and then hopefully have a home with a much larger room.

Username: Tay81

Post Number: 1
I would add a sub. REL or era.

Gold Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 8451