Matching an AV Receiver with Mission M3 Speakers

Username: Trazom

Post Number: 2
I am pretty new to all this and would really appreciate some advice from some of you people who clearly know a whole lot more than I do.

I have the following speakers and need some help with matching them with an AV Receiver and some advice on what speaker cable to get.

Speakers:
Front - Mission M35
Centre - Mission M3C2
Rear - Mission 31i

Use: 50:50 Music and Movies

Budget: I would like an amp that will do the speakers justice but wont require me mortgage a house I don't own. I was considering the following but would welcome any other ideas/models that might be suitable.
Denon - 2109 or 2805/7
Harmon Kardon - 435,635,735
Yamaha - RX-V659B, RX-V2600B, RX-V559B, RX-V1500
Marantz - SR5600, SR4600

You may have noticed I don't yet have a sub. That will be a question for another time.

I would really appreciate any thoughts you have on matches and cable.

Gold Member
Username: Edster922

Abubala, Ababala The Occupation

Post Number: 3953
That HK 635 is going for around $600 at onecall.com and jr.com --- that's what I'd get. That's a sweet deal considering that i used to sell for closer to $1000.

Gold Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 2428
I'd like to hear the 5600 with the missions before deciding.

Silver Member
Username: Rsxman

Post Number: 204
im pretty partial to denons higher end receivers like the 2807 and 3805/6

Post Number: 3
Edster: Thanks for the heads up on the HK and the onecall and jr sites and the good price. Do you say HK because they make great Receivers and amps or because they are especially suited to the Mission type sound.
Nuck: Is there much difference between the 5600 and the 4600
Eric: The denons always get written up well. Will they suite the Missions? Is there much of a difference between the 2807 and the 3805?

Silver Member
Username: Rsxman

Post Number: 208