Speaker wire to pair with my Marantz/ b&w?

Username: Alacious

Post Number: 1
Hi guys,

I am attempting to figure out what kind of speaker wire/cable I should get for my system, because right now I am using some awful 14 guage Home Depot generic wire. It's bad.

I'm afraid I'm fairly new at this, just a punk kid with too much time to listen to music.. so I'm not entirely sure what I should be looking for.

Right now my setup is fairly modest:

Sources:
I have a Denon DCD-425 (meh)
PC w/ Audiophile 2496 soundcard
Sansui sr-2050c turntable

Amp:
Marantz 2245 receiver in beautiful shape, but I will be upgrading in the next couple of weeks to either a Marantz pm7200 or a NAD c352. I am leaning towards the Marantz.

Speakers/Interconnects:
B&W dm302 speakers
DH Labs Silver Sonic BL1 Series2 interconnects

Any suggestions? I'm not looking to break the bank, so something reasonably priced would be good.

Gold Member
Username: Stu_pitt

Irvington, New York USA

Post Number: 1242
What makes your speaker cable awful? Is their something physically wrong with it?

Surprisingly, the Home Depot zip cord you have has gotten very good professional and user reviews. Maybe it's not thick enough? Refer to the chart here to determine if it's appropriate -

http://www.roger-russell.com/wire/wire.htm#wiretable

Personally, I don't think speaker wire makes any difference in sound, unless it's not the appropriate guage. Their's some good info on the subject in the article.

If the receiver is up to spec, I'd look into your sources first. PC's and DVD players don't make the best sources IMO. I haven't heard your TT, so I can't comment on that one.

Post Number: 2
Hey, thanks for the reply.

The cable is physically quite frustrating, it feels really cheap and it's too thick (well, the thickness was MY fault). Possibly I have different stuff than what has gotten good reviews? I'm in Canada so possibly the stock is different.