Best receiver for paradigm mini monitors?

Username: Sonogong

Post Number: 2
The other day, I purchased a brand new set of paradigm mini-monitors and a marantz DV-8300 SACD/DVD player that I bought used. I am very new to the whole high-quality A/V scene, so I've been using a low end Yamaha htr-5640 A/V receiver. What receiver do you all think would well compliment a the paradigm speakers and marantz player? I'm looking for something under 800 if possible with accurate sound reproduction rather than power. I am probably going to use the system to listen to music moreso than movies.

Gold Member
Username: Artk

Albany, Oregon USA

Post Number: 3020
Outlaw and Rotel are very good matches for the Mini's. I would give their websites a look. If they are above the budget then I would suggest that the Marantz SR5600 (or the SR5700 if they've already moved on) or their 2 channel receiver would work very well (I'm not sure if you are looking for 2 channel or multi).

Gold Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 2150
SQ rather than power, music more than movies, still not determined if stereo or multi channel...
If pre-owned is an option, and if $ permits juust a bit of a stretch, there are some nice tube amps available.

Gold Member

Albany, Oregon USA

Post Number: 3023
I'm guessin' Mini's would work well with tubes, but I believe he's looking more toward AV gear. Not sure though. Movies still don't sound half bad in 2 channel.

Bronze Member
Username: Rushwj

Knoxville, TN USA

Post Number: 30
I just got a refurb'd Marantz 7500 for $639 shipped today and hooked up to my Paradigm Studio 20's it sounds incredible! I don't think you can go wrong w/ the marantz (especially since you've already got the cd/dvd player). this is my first marantz product and i couln't be more pleased w/ it. happy hunting!

Silver Member
Username: Hawk

Highlands Ranch, CO USA

Post Number: 793