Best receiver for paradigm mini monitors?

Username: Sonogong

Post Number: 1
The other day, I purchased a brand new set of paradigm mini-monitors and a marantz DV-8300 SACD/DVD player that I bought used. I am very new to the whole high-quality A/V scene, so I've been using a low end Yamaha htr-5640 A/V receiver. What receiver do you all think would well compliment a the paradigm speakers and marantz player? I'm looking for something under 800 if possible with accurate sound reproduction rather than power. I am probably going to use the system to listen to music moreso than movies.

Silver Member
Username: Hawk

Highlands Ranch, CO USA

Post Number: 805
Gene:

Congrats on your purchases of the SACD/DVD player and speakers. Those are very nice choices.

Ther are a limited number of good options here, given your budget, although there are some very good ones. First, since you appear to want an audio/video receiver, that eliminates a number of options, including stereo receivers and stereo integrated amps. Second, since you want an AVR (audio/video receiver), there are only five brands that I would recommend. Most mass market brands install very puny, near worthless power supplies, which includes your Yamaha. These brands love to boast they have around 100 wpc, but that is a lie. They barely have 100 wpc when driving only two channels into an 8 ohm short. Drive five real speakers at the same time and you are lucky to get 1/2 of the rated power (1/3 rated power being more common). For example, the Yamaha RX-640, which I think is the same receiver you have (Yamaha sells the htr series and the RX series receivers through different retail channels, but they are the same unit with very minor differences--just like mattresses) is rated by Yamaha at 90 wpc, but when driving 5 channels in bench tests, it will clip at 39 wpc. This is directly because of the cheap power supply these mass market brands install.