Receivers for Bose Accostimas 10

Username: Sstawade

Miamisburg, Ohio USA

Post Number: 3
Hi
I too have purchsed Acoustimass 10 home entertainment speaker system and I am looking for a low on weight receivers which I can take out side country. Additionaly do not want to invest too much on receiver as I want an option to choose better one if I do not like this one.
My requirement is low weight and good sound quality. Not really bothered about number of inputs.

Can anybody please suggest.

I am a novice to home theatre systems and the ones bose offers with their LS systems are really cool. Can they be bought someplace?

Please advice.
Thanks
Satyajit

Bronze Member
Username: Alphabet

Cape TownSouth Africa

Post Number: 55
Satyajit, I really don't want to rain on your parade, as you are probaly very excited about your Bose purchase, but did you compare them with other speaker packages side by side?

As far as your question about a lightweight receiver with good sound quality, my opinion is that there is no such thing as the weight normally relates to the power supply and as a rule of thumb a lightweight power supply cannot deliver the current needed to produce good sound quality.

However do not let my cynicism concerning Bose and lightweight receivers put you off. If you are satisfied with your purchase, its your ears and your money.

A receiver that caused a lot of discussion on this forum is the Panasonic XR55 and should be fairly lightweight due to utilizing digital amplification.

Miamisburg, Ohio USA

Post Number: 4
Thanks for the response Abe. Unfortunately I came across this site after I purchased Bose and kind of disappointed reading the forums about the Bose. I guess I got carried away by the brand name.
But anyways, as I mentioned I am a not too much into sound and the techy frequency jargon, I may be Satisfied with it for a while till I get into details.