Receiver for Paradigm Speakers?

Unregistered guest
I'm a novice at best when it comes to audio systems, but recently jumped into the fray by purchasing a set of Paradigm speakers:

F: Monitor 5, RS: ADP 370, C: CC-370, B: PW2100

I get them home and install and soon realize that my old SONY reciever just isn't cutting it any more.

Any recommendations for a good receiver in the $1000-$1500 range to compliment these speakers for home theater and stereo play?

I'd say that probably 60-70% of the time I'll be using the speakers for home theater, but don't want to compromise when I throw in a CD for music.

Thanks

Bronze Member
Username: Buckeyeshine

Post Number: 87
Kim,

As far as Brands both Yamaha and NAD are good matches with Paradigm. There are others but I can't personally vouche for them.

IMHO you can't go wrong with NAD in your price range. I would recommend the NAD T763.

As far as Yamaha, the RX-V2400 would be my recommendation.

I own a NAD T773 after I tested a T763 out in my home with my Paradigms. I was replacing a Yamaha RX-V2092 at the time so compared an RX-V2400 against the T763, again in my home.

The T763 absolutely blew the 2400 out of the water for me. If you can get the opportunity to compare for yourself to use YOUR judgement that would be my recommendation.

Also, at the time I was reluctant to even consider NAD because of the many negative posts here. I am glad I didn't let those negative posts dictate my decision. I had NO issues at ALL with with either the T763 demo that I tested nor the T773 that I currently own. NO HISS...NO HUMM. Both outstanding sound quality and loaded with POWER. The only reason I opted for the 773 was I could afford the cost delta and more power never hurts.

This is one man's opinion. Good luck.

Bronze Member
Username: Gatt767

Malta

Post Number: 47