Reciever vs. Intergrated Amp

Username: Mad_hatter

Collegedale, TN USA

Post Number: 1
Greetings, I'm new here and searching for an answer to my question. I am a college student on a limited budget, I want to upgrade my stereo system. I don't watch movies at all, and only desire the unit to listen to music. I've studied the reciever market and narrowed the search to the HK3480 as my choice if I were to purchase one, and seeing as Amazon.com sells them for $262 it's hard not to go that direction. then I read a review about someone decided to go with a NAD intergrated amp instead, and I was introduced to the world of so called 'High end'. After glancing at several $2000+ range stereo amps, I decided if I buy a new system I can't afford much more than a reciever. But then, looking around on ebay I found some vintage, used, and just old 'intergrated amps' so my question is this, would I be better off with a new HK3480 or a used high-end intergrated stereo amp. I already have speakers, I have a set of DCM 12A (12 inch woofer, 6.5 mid, plus a 3 tweeter, floor speaker) that I picked up when I worked at circuit city, they are rated at peek 500W each, and my old skool Onkyo TX-2500 distorts them on the higher volume levels. I assume this is largely from a lack of power to push them. Any advice?

The Phoenix
Unregistered guest
HK is very musical for the money. I would stay away from used gear. With your budget constraints, a decent integrated amp is probably not a viable choice.

Silver Member
Username: Ziggyzoggyoioi

Outside Philadelphia, PA

Post Number: 243
If you can afford to bridge the price-gap a little bit, check out the Outlaw Audio RR2150 stereo receiver. It sells for $599, and the reviews are phenomenal. I can't say that I've heard this particular item, but I do own an Outlaw amp and have heard their pre/pros and can vouch for both the sound and build quality of their products.

Silver Member
Username: Gavincumm

New York USA

Post Number: 727
Andrew,