A Newbie's First (Real) Listening Experience

Username: Bytesiz

Post Number: 2
I've been digging around and reading these forums for a couple of months now since I've had a renewed interest in audio. I've learned a lot and am beginning to listen a lot differently now. It seemed appropriate to share my first listening experience to "give back" to the forum and hopefully learn even more.

First, it might help explaining where I am coming from. I've enjoyed audio for quite some time, since college when I bought my first system (1988). It was just a Technics receiver, CD player, and some Polk Audio bookshelf speakers. Over the course of a few years, I began to "upgrade" some of these components, namely the receiver (Sony 100WPC) and the CD player (Onyko). The Polk speakers were still sounding good to my ears, so I kept them. At the time I listened to mostly Rock. Money was tight so my system stayed like this until my first real job came along. BTW, I'm still at my first real job.

I had some money to spend so I began to "upgrade". I didn't audition equipment much and didn't seem to care what is sounded like as long as it was loud. So, I ended up with a Carver CT-28v preamp, a pair of Carver TFM-15CB amps bridged to mono driving a pair of Klipsch KG 5.2 speakers. CDs were being played thru a Sony CDP-555 ES 300 disc changer. It did what I wanted. It played loudly.

Here I am now, 10 years later and 36 years old. My music has changed as well as my needs. I really like Blues and stuff like Dave Matthews, Counting Crows, REM, etc. My old system was tiring to listen too. The highs were harsh (an understatement) and the bass booming. My speakers were huge. I'm moving into a different house this Summer. Where are these speakers gonna go? Do I really need 225WPC? It was time to make a change... something drastic.