In need of new reciever

Ken737
Unregistered guest
Hi all, I am not technicaly savy on all the recievers available. I purchased a pair of Bowers & Wilkins DM602.5 (towers), LCR3 (center). I have a old Sony STRD615 that i need to upgade. I have been looking at the Sony STR-DE898/B, but am not so sure on Sony after reading some posts hear. I am concidering purchasing the sub also from B&W to keep a matched set of speakers (is this necassary). Am looking for input on a reciever. I will mostly use for home theater. Looking to spend around $3-$400 for reciever.

Gold Member
Username: Frank_abela

Berkshire UK

Post Number: 1152
Ken,

I can't help you on the receiver since I am on the other side of the pond and don't know prices on your side particularly well. That said, I know that edster would suggest he gets great results from his $230 Panasonic XR55. Other brands to look at would be Denon, Pioneer and Onkyo. They all make keenly priced product. I know the Denons and they are very good value for money and have just launched a new range so this is a good time to look at them. You may also wish to consider the NAD brand which I vaolue for the more musical aspects of its presentation (although Denon seems to be catching up here).

The B&Ws are easy to drive so power is not a big issue, though a little bit of grip is nice since the B&Ws can be a little over-enthusiastic in the bass. I am not a fan of the B&W subs, finding they have too much presence due to cabinet colouration. I would suggest you look at Velodyne, REL and M&K since I know those brands well and they're very good. Others may suggest SVS and HSU which are internet-only brands I believe.

Regards,
Frank.

Silver Member
Username: Ncavman

N.C.

Post Number: 103
Skip anything in the Sony "DE" line. Please take a look at Pioneer Elite and HK, which would do justice to your excellent speakers. The sub choices in the previous post would be great.

Silver Member
Username: Stu_pitt

NYC, NY

Post Number: 840