Adcom GFA 7300 plus cheaper receiver vs. expensive receiver??

Bronze Member
Username: Srkstan

Kazakhstan

Post Number: 25
I am on a budget, and I am in a quandry. Being located abroad far from any hi-fi store where I could test products, I have become obsessed with upgrading my surround audio system for music and DVDs. I have already pretty much made a mistake on an impulsive buy through ebay. I bought some older B&W DM610i speakers, which are rated at 4 ohms. Being a newbie, I thought this was a great deal, but it turns out to be at about the blue book value. That being said, now I am faced with a 4 ohm speaker issue. I have two choices: 1) re-sell the speakers and re-coup the money; or 2) start building a system that can handle 4 ohm speakers. Here, I want to ask some questions related to the second option.

I have looked around for surround receivers that can handle 4 ohms, and pretty much the only ones that promise to handle such a load are the NAD (T743 and up). My other choice would be to use components (i.e. a receiver with pre-outs plus an amp). I have seen a decent deal on a used Adcom GFA 7300 5 channel amp (rated 60 wpc @ 8ohms and 90 wpc @ 4 ohms), and I assume you use this by pluging each channel into the pre-outs of a receiver. Should this sound better than using the internal amp of a receiver? If so, will the quality of the receiver matter as long as it has all the needed surround features? If I am using preouts, can I also use the internal amp of the receiver to power speakers in another room?

Or, does it just make sense to buy a refurbished NAD, which is pretty much in my budget (as long as it really provides sound worth the money). I am looking to building an all B&W speaker system to go with whatever amp/receiver or receiver option I use. Gurus--please help!

Silver Member
Username: Gman

Mt. Pleasant, SC

Post Number: 456
To me you have two sensible choices.