Complete Newbie - Some help please

Username: Stlogan

Post Number: 1
Hi, I'm a complete newbie to this, and I hope I'm posting in the right place. I'm interested in getting a 5.1 surround sound system, primarily for music, in the sub $500 range. I've done searches on the internet, and I can't really seem to find anything relevant to what I want. I'd prefer to stay away from systems-in-a-box. I was hoping that someone would be able to recommend to me a powerful and clear 5.1 speaker system, or perhaps point me in the direction where I might be able to do some better research on my own.

I'd go to Best Buy or Tweeter and ask them, but I'm sure they'd just try to sell me whatever they could, and I hesitate to really take their advice. In my experience salesman at electronics stores don't always know what they're talking about.

Thank you very much for any help you can offer.

-sean

Silver Member
Username: Nuck

Parkhill, Ontario Canada

Post Number: 422
For the $ you say, HTIB is all you get, from my seat.
How bout stereo, and stert there?
Still a few $ more needed, but better stuff.
Others will follow up this thread

Username: Stlogan

Post Number: 2
Alright. Would I be better served getting a computer surround sound speaker system, such as a Klipsch Promedia system, and just using that? I'm no real audiophile, I don't need perfect sound. I'd like something nice though under $500.

Silver Member
Username: Exerciseguy

Brooklyn, NY USA

Post Number: 243
Save time, money, and headaches and buy

The Mission M3S for $198. delivered

http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/pshowdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=309-150

good luck
Unregistered guest