Biwire

Username: Ryounglaw

Post Number: 1
I am new to this home audio thing and need some help. I have a denon AVR 1905 and Polk RTi8's and rear Bose speakers (slowly building). I just got the Polk CSi5. I am interested in using Biwire to the center however I do not have biwire running to the other speakers YET. Is it worth it. I have found the Monster M1.4s at Tweeter for $80. Is it worth it or should I just stay with normal speaker wire. Please help!!!
Ryan

Gold Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 6423

Stay with "normal" speaker wire if all you want to biwire is the center speaker.

Username: Ryounglaw

Post Number: 2
I will eventually biwire the rest if its worth it. Is it??

Anonymous

"Worth it" is a relative term. I wouldn't find it a worthwhile expense, especially for 80 bucks. But this is only one person's opinion.

Gold Member

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 6424

There have been numereous articles written in the press and multiple posts in this and other forums concerning the value of biwiring. It is impossible to suggest what anyone else will hear and appreciate as an improvement. Therefore I would urge you to investigate the opinions of those who can explain the technical reasons for why biwiring might work or might not work well for you. Also gather the opinions of those who have tried the experiment by reading the archives of eCoustics. Put "biwiring/audio forums", or something similar, into a search engine and you should have plenty to read on the subject.

Silver Member
Username: Gman

Mt. Pleasant, SC

Post Number: 726
Bi-wiring should only benefit the wire company. Due to the laws of physics, one or 20 speaker wires going to the same speaker from the same amp channel will deliver the same power of signal. The only advantage could be if the speaker wire you are using is of such a thin gauge that inadequate signal is passing--and that is highly unlikely. If that is the case, just buy new thicker gauge wire.