NAD C350 Soft clipping problem

Username: Sealzy

LondonUK

Post Number: 1
Hopefully someone here can help... I've just plugged in my old Technics SLBD22 turntable into my NAD c350 amp.

Immediately the soft clipping light on the amp came on. The LP I'm playing is barely audible. I'm no expert, but I'm guessing something is wrong here? Can any of you guys help?

Username: Unbridled_id

ChicagoUsa

Post Number: 6
hey andrew, the nad integrateds do not include an rca hookup for turntables... This is why they make the p-2 as an add on... I assume this is why you are getting the soft clipping light..

Username: Sealzy

LondonUK

Post Number: 2
Hi,

Thanks for that. Could you just clarify a couple of things for me? What is a rca hookup? And what is a P-2?

Does that mean that I am unable to connect a turntable to this amp? It does have an input jack marked disc on the back. I assumed that would mean a turntable, but I could be wrong.

Sorry, I'm being a bit thick here.

Thanks

Username: Unbridled_id

ChicagoUsa

Post Number: 7
rca refers to the inputs where you plug in your components. The p-2 (they wouldn't let me use 2 p's as they felt it was uncouth??) is an outboard phono amp from nad and costs about 100 dollars. The input marked disc refers to another cd not phono. Your not being thick at all, I hope I have helped as I have spent untold time on nads website salivating over the c372...

Silver Member
Username: Hawk

Highlands Ranch, CO USA

Post Number: 487
Andrew:

unbridled id's comments were the first thing I thought of--what input do you have your turntable connected to?