Denon 3805 on screen setup

Username: Newataudio

Post Number: 2
Hey guys and gals,

I am a newbie at this stuff, so bear with me please. I have just set up these components in a surround environment:

SONY KDF-70XBR950
connected directly to HR10-250 High Definition DVR via HDMI to DVI video cable ( and Monster audio analog for TV only sound)

Denon 3805s AVR used for 5.1 surround connected to HR10-250 via fiber optic cable input #1

Panasonic S97S DVD connected directly to Sony TV via component video, with the audio connected directly to Denon 3805 both by fiber optic #2 as well as (3) pairs of red/white into 3805 'external in' inputs.

Question #1: How can I get the on-screen (TV) setup to display on my Sony for the 3805? I assume that since I am bypassing the 3805 by connecting the TiVo box directly to the TV, this is the cause. Is there a connection by which I can still video-connect the 3805 to the TV?

#2: Is this the optimal way (in your opinions) in which to connect these 4 devices? Should I run the TiVo box through the 3805, or leave it and achieve the HDMI>DVI video?

#3: Will I be able to 'tell' if I'm getting use of both the analog/RCA/3-pair connection of the DVD player as well as the #2 optical?

Thanks in advance for any advice,

newataudio

Silver Member
Username: Chitown

Post Number: 337
Doug the lack of an HDMI connector on the 3805 makes this just a bit on the inconvinient side. However you can still connect all your other devices (Tivo, DVD, VCR etc.) directly to the 3805 via the best connection possible (and that would be in this order: 1)Optical /Component 2)Optical/S-video 3)Composit), then run a set of component cable from the 3805 (monitor Out on the top right hand corner) to your TV.

This way you can control all your units from the 3805 and have all sounds go through the amp and all video through the TV. This will also allow you to see the 3805 menu on your TV.