Upstairs sound

Silver Member
Username: Nuck

Parkhill, Ontario Canada

Post Number: 126
hi everyone.

As I have no recent experience with small speakers, maybe I can toss this one out.
I would like to put a 5.1 upstairs in our smallish living room(10x20). We have movies up there, but music will be very important, stereo likely, and will listen from the kitchen and table area next room over, via the large open doorway.
Small speakers to me are the old radio shack ones, remember the metal bodies and steel grilles.
I may use a HK avr55 to run things, and an HSU sub seems popular, albeit I need only the small one.
Music might be, James Taylor, Eagles, BB king, or that woman who sings Here for the party(wretch) Thats my honey for ya!

Money counts here folks, I am Canadian after all.

many thanks,

Jamie

Silver Member
Username: Chitown

Post Number: 277
You may want a dual zone amplifier. That way you can setup a 5.1 upstairs for the movies and may be run a two speaker in the other area for the music.

The HK is good. I don't know if that model is 2 zone. You can also look into lower cost Kenwood or Panasonic. If you want to spend a little more go with Denon or Marantz. A lot of their receivers are 2 zones.

As for the speakers stick with your Canadians and help out your econonmy. Look for Axiom or Ascend speakers for good bookshelves. The HSU is a great complement.

Silver Member
Username: Nuck

Parkhill, Ontario Canada

Post Number: 127
Thanks Stof.

If I put anymore than this in the house my hunny might blow a fuse, haha.
This is going to be one room only, and, you may be on the spot to call on psb, axiom and the lot for an idea or two.
Repatriation from Chitown, who knew.

Thanks.

A sub sat sounds chincy to me, but maybe I need to check it out.

Gold Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 5360

http://www.us.alegriaaudio.com/

Silver Member
Username: Cheapskate

Post Number: 274