Breaking in new speakers

Username: Garo

LondonUK

Post Number: 5
I've just bought a pair of Wharfedale Diamond 9.1 speakers, i'm new to HiFi and i'm unsure whether i can use them normally straight away or if they need a period of running in much like an amp would. If so, what process of running in would anyone suggest?

Silver Member
Username: Frank_abela

Berkshire UK

Post Number: 782
Gary

You can use 9.1s normally straight away. They do benefit from running in which simply means putting them on repeat or the radio all day.

If you want to accelerate the running in period, you can wire them up outof phase (so one speaker's connections are the wrong way around) and then use a CD with a mono signal or if your amp has a mono switch, switch that on. Choose a CD with lots of output, not solo piano but some rock or pop. Make the speakers face very close to each other but not so close that they touch. Raise the volume to the level on the amp that you would normally be listening to the system as room-filling sound. So if the volume control is usually 10 o'clock on the dial when you listen to music, set the volume to that. They will not sound loud since they are cancelling each other out but you will be working them more than usual. Do that for a weekend and they should be close to run in after that.

Regards,
Frank.
Others - Diamond 9.1s are easy to run in and easy to drive., If you have speakers that take longer to run in, the technique above will help reduce that quite a bit, especially if you do it over 3 weekends or more.

Silver Member
Username: Shahrukhd

Mumbai, Maharashtra India

Post Number: 114
Diamond 9.1s use a Kevlar woofer. Kevlar takes approximately 100 hours to break in.

Silver Member
Username: Thx_3417

Post Number: 981
Virgin loudspeakers, well mine are defiantly broken in, and still able to perform well, is this an average 100 hours, for any loudspeaker?

Silver Member

Post Number: 115