Will H/K Receiver drive MMG's?

Username: Bobolink

Post Number: 1
Newbie here trying to put together a respectable HT/Music system for cheap.

I'm very interested in auditioning the Magnepan MMG's. I've decided on an H/K 230 for my receiver. My question is will the H/K 230 alone be able to drive the MMG's? From H/K's website, it states that their receivers should be able to handle most 4 Ohm speakers, but I'd like to hear from anyone with experience using H/K's driving low-impedance speakers.

Thanks to all in advance.

Bronze Member
Username: Cheapskate

Post Number: 21
hmm... i've never come across anything that states that HK can do 4 ohms. the general rule of thumb is to look for amps that have 2X the power output with 4 ohms as they do with 8 ohms.

i too am lusting after MMGs after listening to a pair of their bigger brothers, but my onkyo owners manual says 4 ohm loads are a huge no-no.

if their website claims 4 ohm stability, then HKs should be able to drive maggies as they have super flat impedence curves.

i've been looking into NADs to drive MMGs as i know that NAD has dedicated 4 ohm switching as i own an older 2 channel with a 4 ohm switch.

i don't have an answer to your question, but you gave me something to look into. if HK can do 4 ohms safely, then i'd probably lean that way as NADs tend to have more rolled off treble as well as magnepans (at least their $1200 1.2s do). 2X soft treble is some price to pay for midrange heaven. i think that MMGs actually have more treble extension than 1.2s though.

HK has always impressed me with it's treble extension, but i never liked that their recievers tend to be around $100 more expensive than similarly rated onkyo/denon/yamaha. if they can do 4 ohm loads though, then they are actually a bargain.

it would be really nice if magnepan would just split their drivers in half and run them in series to turn them into 4 ohm loads which would work with ANY amp.