Can someone help me with a possible upgrade?

Good Day,

I have been putting together an audio system for many years. Like many of you, I'm sure, it's a work in progress. I have gone into home theatre over the last few years, but once again, I am in a position to upgrade, but I am not certain where my weakest link is. I am mostly concerned about audio as that is primarily my primary use - video is secondary.

I am using a 6-7 year old Yamaha DSP-1092A Integrated amplifier which I think may be due for an upgrade. For speakers, I have PSB's Century 800's as the mains, the C2 as the center, Ambient 2's as the rear surrounds, an Atlantic Technology HO12 for a sub, and NHT Super Zero's for front surrounds. Television is a 65" Mitsubishi Platinum Series HDTV. (Onkyo Tuner, Toshiba DVD, Pioneer CD, JVC Cassette)

I am actually very pleased with the theatre, but my two-channel listening just seems to lack something. I'm wondering if a speaker upgrade or an amplifier upgrade would be most logical? And would it be prudent to begin moving to seperates and, if so, which would be a piece I could buy and use it in conjunction with current system?

I have a rather large, unusual listening room (it's a loft with 17ft. high ceilings)which may be a problem. The PSB's put out some pretty good sound, but I seem to lose some of the mid and high's at higher listening levels. I listen to mostly vocal music (ie, James Taylor, Paul Simon, Carla Bonoff, Jimmy Buffett, etc.) although for parties we do crank it up (eg., AC/DC, Twisted Sister, Kiss, etc.,) so I would like something that handle this range. I would like to limit next purchase to $1000 but I could go to $1500. I was considering PSB Stratus Gold i's....does anyone have any experience with these or other speakers I should look at? And, finally, does anyone have any opinion on Magnepan's or Definitive Tech speakers?

Thanks,
Dave Harris, M.S.