New and need help with receivers

Username: Dolfan058

Post Number: 1
allright, i'm sure you guys get plenty of annoying newbs here and i'm sorry, but i'm gonna be the next one.

i'm an absolute amateur when it comes to home audio (i'm a car audio buff, having competed with the IASCA). well my old roommate left a couple of digital audio monitor speakers when he left (i know their a p.o.s., but they were free and i'm a poor college student, so i didn't care), so I bought a cheap pyramid home amp for them so I could power them substantially. Now what i'm confused about is how surround sound systems work. Can you actually get external speakers to work with regular television, or is it only for dvd players, playstations, etc? If it does work for regular tv, how so? Do some receivers have an input for the TV cable and that's how they get the sound?

Also, the amp that i bought for those speakers, albeit good, have no remote for the volume control (only 2 knobs which you adjust), so my thinking was that I'd buy a receiver that has a remote control so i could control the volume to those speakers and also accept the audio inputs for all my different stuff (dvd player, playstation 2, etc). How should I go about this? I'm not interested in tons of features or whatever, just something with a remote so when i'm watching TV or a movie while those things are on, I can lower the volume from my couch instead of having to get up repeatedly and adjust those damn knobs. thanks for the help, I appreciate it.

Gold Member
Username: Edster922

Abubala, Ababala The Occupation

Post Number: 1252
A lot depends on what kinds of plug connections your TV has.

If your TV has audio outputs you run those into the AV receiver; if not, you'll have to use your VCR's tuner to watch TV.

Some TVs nowadays even have speaker terminals but usually only 2 channels and I imagine the SQ probably sucks due to underpowering.