Help me please - Best system under £500

Username: Maidenx

Post Number: 2
Hi,

I am very new to the world of hifi and was doing some reading before I bought a new system - I read that micro and mini systems can NEVER sound as good as even basic component systems - is that true? I like to listen to a range of music (metal/classical/pop) most of which I have converted into MP3. Which is the best system (micro/mini/seperates) for under £500? It will be great if it can play mp3 as well and load multiple CDs.

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Regards
T George

PS: I have posted this in the Mini System section as well as I was not sure where it should go.

Gold Member
Username: John_a

LondonU.K.

Post Number: 3301
It depends on what you have already, and on what you want your new system to do. For stereo, you can get two speakers, an amplifier, and a CD player that will add up to that total and, yes, probably be better than an all-in-one system of the same price. If you have a good hi-fi dealer in your area, then the staff should be able to give advice, and sell you suitable separate components.

Starbucks
Unregistered guest
I would think component Hi Fi is always better than micro or mini set. Component Hi Fi can produce good quality and clear sounds from the cd you played as well. Hence, quality sound place strong reliance on the CD itself too. If u going to play a lot of MP3,which is 128kps, then I dun think the component Hi Fi can reach the optimum output. Inversely, would not produce pleasant sounds. What u say ?

Silver Member
Username: Frank_abela

Berkshire UK

Post Number: 630
Tellis,