NAD 743 Locked in "Stereo" mode.

Username: Clueless_n00b

Post Number: 1
Hiya everyone. As you might guess by my nick, I'm a real newbie when it comes to Home Cinema as I just bought my first setup about two weeks ago.

Please, be gentle with me. :-)

Anyway... I have a bit of a problem. As I said, I bought my current system about a week ago and after setting it up everything worked fine. But when I turned on the receiver the other day I was unable to get Pro Logic II working with the movie I was about to watch.
The NAD refuses to give me anything but Stereo when I press the "Surround Mode" button on my remote control. I thought maybe the back speakers somehow had become unplugged so I ran the test. But to no avail all the speakers checked out ok... So in affect... I'm stuck with a system that refuses to use my rear speakers desite that they work... Am I just missing something obvious?

The movie I was watching had both DD 5.1 and DTS, When I pick DD5.1 I just get Stereo. When I pick DTS I get something weird called "DownMix" whatever that means.... I get no sound from my back speakers regardless in either case.

A bit of technical information for you if its of any help:

Receiver: NAD 743 (Duuh!) :-)
Front speakers: Dali Blue 5005
Center: Dali Blue C1000
Rear speakers: a pair of older but working speakers.
Optical Sound Cable from the DVD-player to the First Optical slot on the NAD.

Did I miss anything? Just holler if you need any more info, Like I said, I'm new. :-)

Post Number: 2
Doh, that is of course a NAD "T" 743. Thats right, NAD T743. :-)

Bronze Member
Username: Landroval

Post Number: 22
Have you checked your DVD-players setup options? Did you try PL2 on CD or TV?

Marc
Unregistered guest