Onkyo 801 or Denon 3805?

Anonymous

Hi, I am new to this HT setup. I have been doing some research on different receivers. Based on my budget (~ $800) and my requirements (mostly movies) I have boiled my choice between SR801 and AVR3805. What are the pros and cons of both?

Also, in terms of speakers which make/model is best suited for either of the receivers.

Bronze Member
Username: Miso

Slovakia

Post Number: 25
for me-DENON would be the choice over ONKYO,i don't know this model though,but friend of mine used to have onkyo(this price range)and was never satissfied-comparing with my DENON.

Anonymous

What about speakers? Which speaker works best w DENON?

Migrain
Unregistered guest
Tweeter company, a major seller of Denon, usually pairs Denon with Mirage speakers. I bought a set of Mirage speakers for my surround set up and I am very pleased. I Do not have a Denon, but I'm sure the sound would be great giving the fact that Denon has the ability to bring out all of the little details that the Mirage speakers can manifest. My current set up consist of:

The Mirage 260 floor standing speakers for left and right.
The compatable center channel (I can't name it off hand).
The Mirage 50 bookshelf speakers as surrounds.

The only reason why I chose bookshelfs as surrounds is because I play alot of music and I wanted a warmer sound. Also they are better timber matched to the 260 floor standers than the matching surrounds.

Or, you could go with the Mirage Omnisat series wich gets rave reviews if you are interested in a good cinema set. They look way cool and when they are playing in the stoors, I have dificulty locating them.